Aristo Cup Races Draw Crowds of both Racers and Spectators

From the TRINN Archives

by Thane Carios

(TRI-HQ) The latest Aristio Cup races kicked off on 110.7.25 with the first in what will be a series of at least five parts, with the initial race being the “Amananth 444” — a three-lap course through The Gyre, Aman Hook, Last Parsec, Sea of Shadows and The Split — starting and finishing in Aman Station. Nine pilots participated in the Heavy-Miner-Class event, and eight in the Transport-Class event. This was a straight-out “speed” race where the winner was the first to finish the course and dock, but an additional 20 race point could be earned by going through the Last Parsec beacon.

“We are so pleased that CaptainCow has decided to run another Artistio Cup series!” said Echo Tetsab, Director of TRI-RMD. “And we also want to than the Series Sponsor, Aristio Conglomerated. Hopefully we’ll see more and more actual race participants as the series progresses.”

When asked for comment, Race Organizer, CaptainCow said, “MOO!” . . . which, according to our translator, means: “The pilot population seemed to be really excited about this year’s Aristio Cup. There were lots of spectators to cheer on the racers and help ensure their safety from any Conflux that may have shown up to spoil the party. With the Amananth 444 successfully complete we must now turn our attention to the next race that will require much more preparatory work!”

When asked if, in retrospect, he would have changed anything about this race, CaptainCow mooed, “Yeah, having an official in more than 2 places would have helped keep track of laps. I believe it was a simultaneous jump that I missed Moody 1 lap, and I jumped out of my lap counting sector [because] too many non-participants [were]dropping flux.”

The winners of the Heavy Miner event were: Algore and Moody for Octavius; Jargo for Solrain and Nessos for Quantar. Moody was awarded a “win” because of a judging problem that cost him significant time. The winners of the Transport Class were: Rainman for Octavius; NOTORIOUS for Solrain; and Tesrend for Quantar. The point accumulated for winning and beacon-tuning will go towards determining overall series winners for The Aristio Cup.

Each factional winner was awarded the Ronin’s Choice award, plus five Intimidator power plants.

All other participants received the Keval’s Thanks medal. CaptainCow received the Echoes of Hope award for organizing the race, as did RedDwarf, Tesrend and Wolfdog for their assistance in the running and promoting of the event.

The last time the Aristio Cup Race Series was run was four years ago in 106. The next race in the series will be held on 110.8.8 at 15:00 Ekoos Time. This race will start in Hyperial and will involve picking up ore and hauling it to Quantar Depot.

Complete Amananth 444 Race Results (Overall Points in brackets):


Octavius: [1] Algore (120 points) & Moody (100); [2] BIG_IRON (90); [3] Magnus-Ex (110)

Solrain: [1] Jargo (160 points); [2] Painter (70)

Quantar: [1] Nessos (140 points); [2] SleazRider (130); [3] Goose (110)

Octavius: [1] Rainman (100 points); [2] InMe (90); [3] Brasidas (50); [4] Magnus-Ex (80); [5] Algore (80)

Solrain: [1] NOTORIUS (160); [2] Painter (90);

Quantar: [1] Tesrend (160)