Emperor Venticus!

UUNN Newswire

(Oct Core) – Venticus Marius defeated Consul Tesios Muca in the Duel of Accession to the Throne of Ares Prime today in a close battle that took place after a disruption from SOL NAVY. Here is the full transcript of the event:

D_Tanion:

Welcome brothers and sisters of Octavius. And welcome worthy witnesses of other factions to this great event. The Duel of Accession to the Throne of Ares Prime, and all of Octavius.

By the tradition and statutes of our great Nation, a neutral Marshall of the Duel must be selected.

The services of BLADES_INC have been secured. My name is Dominus Tanion, and my honor is to serve the Empire of Octavius on this glorious day.

The combatants are Venticus Marius, son of the late Emperor Clements IV, first blood heir to the throne;  and Tesios Muca, Consul of Ares Prime.

Combatants, by the traditions of our people, do you acknowledge my authority?

 

Venticus: I see that your blade is sharp on both edges.

Muca: I see that both your eyes are keen.

D_Tanion: Very well. The weapon chosen for this Duel is the Phoenix fighter. Both combatants loadouts were inspected by me personally prior to launch. Missiles will not be used in this contest. Separate by 20k.

D_Tanion: Begin.

The combat was reasonably brief and a close fight, with the young Venticus edging out a low armor victory over the more experienced Consul Muca. The disposition of their relationship after the fight has been a subject of much speculation on Ares Prime, however the brief exchange after the duel seem to indicate that the breech may not be permanent.

D_Tanion: Ventius Marius has prevailed! All hail Emperor Venticus!

Muca: Indeed! Very well fought. You are ready to lead us, and I was a foolish old man to doubt it. And so if by my life or my death I can serve the Empire, I will follow you. Hail Venticus! True Emperor of all of Octavius.

Venticus: Well said, Consul Muca. You were a worthy opponent. Do not fear me. It is said “Only a fool throws away his sharpest blade.” I am no fool.

To the business of the Empire: there is a War on with the Solrain. One we did not start, but one we shall finish! Those who shamelessly murdered my father: they should fear me.

Likewise for those of the STCC who have sheltered their criminals,

Offered us no weregild.

We will right these wrongs!

 

Muca: Sanguinem pro Octavius! My blood for my Nation!

Venticus: Triompe in Sanguis, Octavius!

The event was broadcast to all points of the Empire. Cheers could be heard from Oct pilots all over space, to those workers the orbital space facilities, all the way down to those celebrating in the streets of Trivera. By tradition, Ares Prime will enjoy a week of festivities beginning tomorrow with the official coronation ceremony in the capital.

Leave a Reply

